Skip to main content

Tampa, Florida, September 12, 2022 — Today officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.

Tampa Prep is very pleased to announce five National Merit Scholar Semifinalists from its Class of 2023: Karnik Donepudi, Joseph Lechman, Emma Lefferts, Daniel “Kai” Nelson and Walker Wilson. We are immensely proud of these students!

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955, specifically to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

We would also like to recognize the students from the Class of 2023 who received Students National Recognition Program Awards*:

Alyssa Williams: NAARA
Anyah Hutchinson-brooks: NAARA
Daniel Lopez: NHRA
Dayvion Porter: NAARA, NHRA
Isabella Belknap: NHRA
Jaden Holder: NAARA, NHRA
Jailene Edwards: NAARA, NHRA
Kendall Curtis: NHRA
Laila Siplin: NAARA
Laplace Sallis: NAARA
Maelle Munnings: NAARA
Maiyah Hall: NAARA
Nicholas Devoe: NAARA
*NAARA = National African-American Recognition Award

*NHRA = National Hispanic Recognition Award