Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Log into Board Portal

Judy Genshaft

Judy Genshaft

Elected 2019

During her historic 19-year presidency, from 2000 to 2019, Dr. Judy Genshaft catapulted the University of South Florida System to statewide, national and international prominence for student success, academic rigor, research and innovation, and economic development. In 2018, USF received the elite designation of “Preeminent State Research University,” Also in 2018, USF was accepted into the distinguished Phi Beta Kappa honor society, In 2019, the USF Honors College was re-named the Judy Genshaft Honors College in recognition of a historic gift.

President Genshaft has been instrumental in economic development efforts in the Tampa Bay region, serving as chair of The Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce, the Tampa Bay Partnership, the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce Committee of 100 and the Tampa Hillsborough Economic Development Corp. Nationally, President Genshaft has served as chair for the American Council on Education (ACE) and has been a member of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) Board of Directors. In 2010, she made National Collegiate Athletic Association history when she became the first woman to chair the Division I Board.

President Genshaft earned recognition from professional organizations and community groups throughout her career. Her honors include: 2019 Tampa Bay Business Journal Lifetime Achievement award; 2008 Tampa Bay Business Hall of Fame; Tampa Bay Business Journal’s 2007 Business Woman of the Year; Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce Dottie Berger MacKinnon Woman of Influence Award; Tampa World Trade Center’s Betty Castor Lifetime Achievement Award; Florida Economic Council’s Richard L. McLaughlin Award; and recipient of the Amiga Award for Non-Hispanic Women whose outstanding efforts have improved the quality of life in the Hispanic community.